Man injured in fight punches nurse at Lehigh Valley Hospital

Rainman

If you were a nurse and the person you were treating punched in the face, what would your reaction be?

A man who'd been brought into a hospital with a head injury sustained in a fight, while being attended to by nurses declared that he wanted to use the restroom. The nurses told thought it would be better for him to use a bedpan and this angered the man. He punched the nurse in the face then threatened to kill the other one.

Man injured in fight punches nurse at Lehigh Valley Hospital, cops say | lehighvalleylive.com

He is to be charged with assault, making terroristic threats, etc.

Whitewolf2578

Well as a Nurse I have actually been kicked in the face, punched, spit on, slapped. You really just get used to dealing with people that don't want to be helped or who are too confused to understand where they are. A lot of dementia patients are like that where I work. My reaction would be to try to calm to person down, I would lose my job if I tried to fight someone who was injured.

lushlala

That's bang out of order! It looks like the nasty piece of work deserved the beating he got that put him in hospital to start with. He was probably mouthing off at the wrong person. He didn't have dementia as far as we can tell, so what was his excuse? This is why I don't like being around drunks, so unpredictable.

Gabe

I hope he gets all the charges against him upheld. There was no reason for an unprovoked attack and people like that need to be locked up and made an example of for their inappropriate behavior. Nurses shouldn't have to be afraid or deal with any such behavior and those people need to be held accountable and their actions made public.

Josie