Protein Intake

shandrum

I was wondering what you feel is an adequate amount of protein to intake? I have read and researched that you should intake a pound per body weight, but that is a really hard feat for me. I strive to balance my micros and keep my sugars low, but I can never get my allotted protein intake. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!!

Gelsemium

I am fairly new to the protein world, but I think that if you go to a store or at your local gym that they can give you a good advice.

JoshPosh

Banned
I was wondering what you feel is an adequate amount of protein to intake? I have read and researched that you should intake a pound per body weight, but that is a really hard feat for me. I strive to balance my micros and keep my sugars low, but I can never get my allotted protein intake. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!!

You need 1 gram of protein per 1 pound of "LEAN" body mass. If you are a boese 500 pound man, you shouldn't be taking 500 grams of protein a day.

Now if you are a body builder, then naturally you need more then 1 gram of protein per 1 pound of body mass.

Determined2014

That is great information, I have always wondered myself, about the appropriate amount of protein intake, that we should take, I now know that I do need to consume 140g of protein per day.

Patrick

It depends on whether you're aiming to bulk up, if you're current living a very active lifestyle or just doing sedentary work. I would think that 200 grams is more than enough for most active police officers.

Kittyworker

First of all, the majority of people, unless you are an ultra-endurance athlete, will be consuming sufficient protein.
Recommendations I have seen say around 0.8g per KG of bodyweight in inactive, 1.2g per KG if you are active.
This is not saying that more protein is bad, its just not as significant as people think. I would say its more significant that you are eating protein within 2hours pre workout and 1hour post workout.