How old are most students who typically enter a police academy?

Fury

I've never seriously considered being a police officer, and I figure most people who want to become police officers are younger than university age. Looks like my degree is pretty worthless, though, so anything is an option at this point.

ReDGuNNeR

Most academies are looking for recruits striahgt out of highschool, but don't let that scare you away. Every organization and department has its own measures and guidelines regarding their hiring practices. If you are dead set on a career in law enforcement then you should find out every possible opportunity. Calling your local agency is your best bet but some jurisdictions do have their hiring practices on-line as it is usually a hectic time when they do open them.

Your university experience may help you but most of the training in the academy is highly specialized. Even those with a degree in Criminal Justice must still undertake the majority of police academy academics, so its no big deal. The average age of hires should not put you off from your dream!

joshua minaya

When it comes to the average age of joining the police force I believe that could be a very relative question from my observation i believe most recruits are usually around their early 20's if you ask me.

Rainman

It varies from place to place or country to country if I have to be more specific. In some countries they have a preference for younger officers so recruits will be young. In their early 20s as it's been mentioned. Elsewhere though, they prefer hiring officers who are over the age of 26. In the UK for example:
To apply for an English or Welsh Police Force General Entry Requirements - Constable The basic criteria required for application is: * Aged between 18 ½ years and 55 years (age limit can vary depending on the force)
In Texas:
# # Age Requirements: 21-44 years of age (cannot have reached 45 years of age by date of civil service exam)

Rainman